surprisingly edible!

So it’s no secret that I’m not the biggest fan of zucchini. I usually attempt to grill one every summer and declare I’m “over” it about halfway through the first serving. But my friendly CSA box came stuffed to the gills with the little yellow and green monsters (2nd week in a row!), so I’ve been trying to figure out what to do with them. Last week I made refrigerator pickles, but there’s only so much room in my fridge! This week we tried the stand-by “grilled coins” method to use in lunch salads (not terrible, but only because I had feta, tomatoes, steak, spinach, & balsamic vinegar dressing to distract me from their bland mooshiness!).

So in my quest for palatable zucchini, I found a food network recipe for grilled zucchini salad that I gave a shot last night…you basically shave the zucchini with a veggie peeler (or mandolin slicer if you’re feeling fancy!) into thin long strips, grill them just until they get grill marks, then toss them with lemon juice, olive oil, garlic, parsley, & pine nuts. I put the salad together (it was super quick to make) and tested it and was not enthused. Well, disgusted might be the best word…it was…mushy and kind of runny all the same time. But, we set it aside while we cooked our steaks and when we went to eat it with dinner, viola! Surprisingly edible. The squash had gotten less squishy somehow, and the dressing had been absorbed so it wasn’t running all over, and the garlic flavor was divine. It was basically a vehicle for garlic, which is A-OK with me! I don’t know if I’ll make it again, but I’m glad it turned out better than expected!  You can see the zucchini strips on the (brand new!  squee!!)  grill below on the right.  They were a bit of a pain to grill because they kept tearing and sliding through the grate.

20110803-014721.jpg

I think a batch of zucchini bread may be in the works to take care of the rest of it.  At least that way I can (maybe) pawn some off on unsuspecting co-workers (or freeze it for later!).  What else is a girl to do with pounds upon pounds of summer squash?!?!?!

Along with a load of zucchini, we also have a pile of cucumbers from the CSA…but those I DO know what to do with! Pickles!!!! OK, truth be told, I’ve made pickles exactly once. About two years ago, in fact! (Actually, I just unearthed the dusty, mostly empty box of pickling salt I bought for that last attempt during a recent kitchen/pantry cleaning session…unfortunately I threw it away because I didn’t think I’d use the rest…and now I have to go buy a new box.  Sigh.  Someday I’ll learn!).

I found a recipe for garlic dill pickles and will be attempting those tonight after work (my weeknights get awful ambitious awful fast lately, it seems!).  I also have a sewing project I’d like to pick back up, but that may get sidelined depending on how involved pickling turns out to be…


Leave a Comment!

