Squash Soup!

I’ve been craving squash soup for a while now (and thanks to my hefty squash haul from the end of the CSA season, I have lots of squash to choose from!). In the past week I’ve had a wicked chest cold, so I’ve been doubly craving soup, but hadn’t gotten around to making anything more ambitious than beans on toast. A few days ago, I roasted some squash and happily roasted a bit too much for one meal, which means I could make a really quick soup, to boot! I did some lazy googling to find a recipe, but nothing I found really tickled my fancy…some called for apples (which I don’t have on hand), some for sour cream, and one even called for cabbage (eew, I think?).  Not what I wanted, exactly.

I knew wanted something spicy and sweet and creamy, and all the recipes I dug up ended up being somehow lacking, so I struck out on my own. I started with roasted spaghetti squash, curry powder and cream, but that’s hardly a soup! For the sweet part, I relied on the natural sweetness of the squash, plus a little apple cider. For the spice, I added some curry powder plus some crushed red chili flakes. For the creamy bit, I really wanted to use coconut milk, but alas, my pantry did not have a can lurking in the shadows (a first!), so I went with some heavy whipping cream. I also wanted to use an onion (for a bit more bite), and a bit of lemon juice to perk it all up. I contemplated adding potatoes to the mix, but decided I didn’t feel like washing and boiling spuds–and cubed spuds were out of the question–I wanted a creamy smooth soup, no chunks. I also had a jar of onion stock lurking in the fridge (from a roast we made a few weeks ago). Surprisingly, it came together very easily (a good 45 minutes before I’d planned, even!), so I thought I’d take my new-found spare time to share the recipe.

20111019-191948.jpg

Ridiculously Easy Curried Squash Soup

Ingredients:

  • 2 T. butter
  • 1 yellow onion, diced
  • 2-3 T. hot curry powder (more or less to taste)
  • 4-5 lb. winter squash, roasted or boiled
  • 2 c. vegetable broth/onion stock or water
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 c. heavy whipping cream

Method:

  1. Heat butter in a dutch oven over medium heat. Add onion and cook, stirring occasionally, till golden.
  2. Add curry powder and cook till fragrant, then add broth and squash. Cook 5-10 minutes, till heated through, then puree using immersion blender.
  3. Taste, and season with salt and pepper.
  4. Remove from heat and gently stir in cream. Taste and adjust seasonings as needed.
Leave a Comment!

