Santa’s Little Sweatshop…

…or, What I’ve Been Up To Since My Last Post.

Yup, it’s that time of year again…retail season.  The season opener went off with a bang as usual (and some early morning pepper spray, too, I hear tell…’tis the seasoning, I guess).  I’m happy to say that I had bought all my gift-making materials by the time the Friday that Shall Not Be Named rolled around (yes, that’s what it’s known as in our house…you try working retail sometime and see what you call Black Friday)!!

This year, we have decided that we have more free time than common sense, and are thus MAKING all* of our holiday gifts.  We usually do a round of Irish cream and holiday cookies, but now we’ve added toys, clothing, scarves, and various other things to our collective to-do list.  Which has turned our living room into a veritable sweat shop…seriously, everyone but the cat has been manning sewing machines and knitting needles and hot glue guns.  It’s been magical.  But because these are gifts for, you know, people I know in real life, I can’t show you pictures (yet!) of all our labors.

Sad for you, because they’re pretty awesome.  I do have a big big reveal-y type post planned for after the holidays, though, so stay tuned for that.  And I’ll be chronicling my attempts to make proper caramel candies in a few days, so keep your eyes peeled for that, too!

*OK, not all…some people are far too difficult and my skillz are far too inadequate to meet in the middle on a decent gift that they’ll actually, you know, like and/or use…so I will be venturing out on the hunt at least once this retail season.

Leave a Comment!

