Overseas Cables!

I’ve recently placed a sewing ban on myself.  From now till Oct. 28th, I shall not sew.  Mostly because, well, we’re hosting the 7th Annual BYOP (Bring Your Own Pumpkin) party on the 27th and I don’t want to have to deal with the unholy mess that seems to accompany my sewing bouts.  Pattern pieces hither and yon, ironing board blocking my front door, sewing machine on the coffee table, fabric and scraps and threads everywhere…oh my!  So I put it all away this weekend and won’t be trotting it out till November.  Oh well.

To keep myself occupied in the meantime, I’ve dug out my last unfinished knitting project, the Overseas Cables sweater (well, that’s what I’m calling it, anyhow, thanks to my color scheme and my first attempt at honest-to-goodness cables!).  The pattern is the Alata sweater from Knitty and I started it last spring (I know, who on earth starts a major knitting project in the spring?!).  I wanted to use up some scrap yarn (lots of whole skeins) leftover from a baby knitting project (my first foray into fair isle left me with a LOT of leftover colored yarn, mostly all shades of blue!).

I’ve got about 8 inches knitted up (and I just re-found my cable needle, so I can continue!) and it’s going swimmingly, if I do say so myself!  I’ve decided that the stripes will be as wide as the skein of yarn lasts (they’re all approximately the same size ball, so it should be pretty even).  After the aqua I’m using right now I’ll switch to a dark navy for the waist…should be fun!  I’m really hoping to finish the sweater before next spring…but we’ll see!

Leave a Comment!

