Hemming and Hawing

Alright.  I admit it.  Just overcasting the edge of chiffon looks kind of terrible once it’s been through the wash.  The skirt I’m (re)making for my sister-in-law went through the wash to get rid of the stiffener, and I wasn’t really thrilled with the hem when it came out.  I mean, it’s passable.  It’s not going to fray.  And I love the magenta thread.  But…it looks pretty sloppy.  I had some trouble keeping the stitches even on the bias-ey curves, and the corners, and it shows.

Especially on the curves.

And since my rolled hem foot was a failure before I went with overcasting, my options at this point were pretty limited.  So I sucked it up and decided to do a rolled hem (yes, on both layers) by hand.  Sooooooooooo much hemming, I know.  But you know what?  It looks amazeballs by comparison.

There’s still a few peeks of magenta overcasting in some places (this is my first time doing a hand-sewn rolled hem), but I’m getting steadily better.  I found a great tutorial on YouTube, and I’ll have ample practice; I made it about 1/3 of the way around the first layer last night (in the span of two episodes of The Killing. On a side note, how did people sew before Netflix & YouTube?)

One thought on “Hemming and Hawing

  1. Pingback: Reversible Double Layer Wrap Half Circle Skirt Tutorial | Adventures in Ordinary

Leave a Comment!

