Rushcutter Dress

I’m super excited to be able to publish this post!  I tested this dress a while ago, and I’ve been patiently waiting for the Rushcutter pattern release from In the Folds so I could talk about it!!  I have to admit, I was a little skeptical when I first saw the view I was going to test–view A, a super loose A-line long sleeved dress.  I don’t wear dresses super often, so when I do, I like them to be both flattering and funky (a tall order, I know!).  When I first saw the line drawings, I immediately saw the potential for funkiness, but I wasn’t convinced it’d be super flattering on my figure.  But I was game to try, and I’m so glad I did–I might just have a new favorite dress pattern!

I used some cotton lawn from my stash that was a fun orange paisley.  I toyed with the idea of doing contrast fabric for the side panels and yoke, but in the end, decided to try it all in the orange paisley on the first go–I was a little afraid that contrast fabric would take the dress too over the top (all I could find in my stash in a similar weight was a gingham-printed orange check–clearly I need to go fabric shopping for lawns again!).  I really want to do a version highlighting those amazing huge side pockets in the near future (I mean, pockets that’ll hold a trade paperback, on a women’s garment, that I didn’t have to draft myself!?!?!?!?  AMAZING!!!).  I also really appreciated the wide size range–I made the top size and didn’t have to alter a thing (which isn’t the end of the world, but sometimes you just really want a pattern to fit out of the gates, you know?!)

Printing, assembling, and cutting out the pattern went super smoothly.  It is quite a few pages to print, but Em has added a printing guide to the finished pattern so you can print just the pages you need.  And everything lined up perfectly.

Speaking of lining up perfectly, can we talk about the notches for a moment?  A huuuuuge pet peeve of mine is sewing pattern notches that do not perfectly line up.  I mean, as I’m sewing, I don’t want to take the time and bother putting notches in the pattern pieces if they’re not going to line up perfectly and actually be useful!  The notches on all the pattern pieces in the Rushcutter?  PERFECTION.  Not only did everything line up, but it didn’t need any tugging, easing, cursing, or cajoling to do so!  Really top notch (sorry, couldn’t help myself!).

Another thing I really liked about the pattern is it has the standard “tutorial” format for instructions, but it also has a quick & dirty “cheat sheet”, which I admit I prefer!  It’s nice to skip the explanations of how to insert a zip and just do it, but for folks who aren’t as confident/experienced, it’s great to have the details available at hand.  Really nice feature!

As I mentioned, I had some doubts about view A, but after sewing it up (which was super quick!), I discovered I really liked it!  It’s super comfy just as is, and looks really nice with a belt to nip in the waist.  I do prefer the sleeves rolled up, but I don’t generally wear long sleeves anyway.  Here’s my “wearable muslin”:

…it does occur to me that you can’t really see all the lovely panels on this one, so here’s another version I made (it’s mostly view B, but instead of the button-up back, I did the zip from view A):

I made the view B-ish version out of poly crepe de chine (I don’t often sew with that fabric, but I really like wearing it!).  I was originally going to use the cream for the side panels, too, and add the pockets in the flamingo fabric, but the cream turned out to be a bit more sheer than I cared for, and in the interest of time, I nixed it and the pockets (was making this to wear to a wedding the next day, otherwise I’d have just lined the side panels and run with it!).  I do really like the way the dress flows in the crepe de chine!

So there you have it–a new favorite dress pattern for me (I’m imagining the possibilities of fall plaids–am I crazy?!).  If you’re looking for a funky, fun, comfy dress with lots of possibilities, go check it out!

Disclaimer: I did receive a copy of the pattern for my testing efforts, but as always, opinions are all mine.

Leave a Comment!

